Sustainable Cities

The Competition:

The Queensland Sustainable City award is presented each year to an outstanding local government, industry, individual and community program, or project designed to give Queensland a sustainable future.

Such projects not only enhance the environment but also improve the standard of living and quality of life.

Keep Australia Beautiful Queensland judges take into account every program or projects, social, economic and environmental outcomes, and assess how efficiently and effectively the community uses the resources available to it in each award category.Queensland Sustainable Cities will be judged by an expert panel, chaired by Emeritus Professor Tor Hundloe, AM.  A member or members of the Panel may visit the community during the judging phase.

Entries will be judged on the following criteria:
- Environmental impact
- Social impact

- Economic impact


Entry submission deadline: COB Tuesday 31 July 2012 - to submit your entry booklet click here

Award Categories:

Community Action and Partnerships:
Recognises achievement in community beautification, presentation, health, wellbeing and pride. Also recognises partnerships between government, business, industry and local community networks. 

'Dame Phyllis Frost' Litter Prevention:
Recognises community litter management, reduction and education initiatives.

Resource Recovery and Waste Management:
Recognises achievement in resource recovery and waste management including initiatives which conserve resources, recover and reuse materials and the appropriate disposal of non-recyclable materials.

Environmental Innovation and Protection:

Recognises innovative principles and actions associated with developing sustainable communities. Also recognises protection of the natural environment focusing on the conservation of native flora and fauna.

Water Conservation:
Recognises sustainable water management within communities which has combined innovative water conservation and water re-use initiatives at the private, industrial and municipal levels, benefiting society and nature.

Energy Innovation:
Recognises sustainable energy management which focuses on innovative energy efficiency measures and climate change issues.

Heritage and Culture:
Recognises communities which proudly preserve and value cultural history.

Young Legends:
Recognises positive environmental outcomes which encourage and promote youth initiative and environmental education and/or achievement.